Home  Temple  Upcoming Events  Uthsavams  Gallery  Kainkarya Sabhas  Contact Temple  Contributions

Timings Management Facilities
Varusha Uthsavam Chithirai Vaikasi Aani Aadi Aavani Purattasi Ippasi Karthigai Maargazhi Thai Masi Panguni Panchaparvam
1. ThondaradipPodi Azhwar Satrumurai 2. Bhogi ThirukKalyanam 3. Adhyayana Uthsavam 4. ThirupPavai Upanyasam 5. 2012 Archives 6. 2011 Archives 7. 2010 Archives 8. 2009 Archives 9. 2008 Archives 10. 2007 Archives
Veda Parayanam Vanabhojanam Trust Sri Patham
Send an E-Mail
தேஶிக ஸந்தேஶம் - மாத இதழ்
Desika Sandesam - Monthly Magazine
Sudharsana Homam (14/7/2024)  Sri Mukham  Editor's Note  Articles/Features  Quiz / Results  Junior Quiz Archives  Weekly Paasuram Quest  Valued Views  Contact Site  Tell - A - Friend
Desika Darsanam An Incarnation of Lord Venkateswara Master of Analogy Chithra Desikeeyam Acharya Vamsa Vruksham Paasurappadi Ramayanam Swami Nammazhwar Snippets
Quiz July Prizes / Results Your Score / Answers Notes for Answers July Answers Answer Archives Question Archives Participant Feedback Quiz Master in You First among the Best Cumulative Results 2014
Answer Archives Question Archives Cumulative Results 2013
Jul 21, 2024's Quest Jul 14, 2024's Results Cumulative Results Your Cumulative Tally
General Feedback About Quiz
21 105
Editor's Note - 22 (March 1, 2010)

Some Well-defined Tenets Of Our Sampradaya

Dear Fellow-Bhagavathas,

That Sriman Narayana is the Supreme Lord has been laid down in the sacred texts of the Vedas, Upanishads, the two great epics, Puraanas and Bhagavath Gita and unequivocally established by our preceptors like Aala Vandhaar, Bhagavath Ramanuja and Swami Desika, to name a few.

Further the Sanaathana Dharma, as the Vedic discipline is known as, has given pride of place to the Varna/Asrama Dharma stipulating and emphasising the Do’s and Do not’s for each sect. The four Varnas are Brahmana, Kshathriya, Vysya and Sudhra and the four Asramas are Brahmachrya, Gruhastha, Vaanaprastha and Sannyaasa.

One should, in this context, remember that the Vedas are but the voice of the Lord Himself and earnestly endeavour to adhere at least to the spirit of the same, if not strictly to the letter always, with reference to his Varna and Asrama.

We shall, in this Note, take a brief look at some of the important, well-defined tenets of our Sri Sampradaya. An unbroken, continuous lineage chain is the hallmark of our unique philosophy in which Sriman Narayana Himself is the first and foremost Acharya. The preachings passed through Mahalakshmi, Vishvaksena, Satakopa, Nathamunigal, UyyakKondaar, Manakkaal Nambi, Aala Vandhaar, Periya Nambi, Sri Ramanuja..., Swami Desika..., upto each one of us and will continue so forever.

There are three aspects, one or more of which connects the Acharya and Sishya. They are Samaasrayanam, Bhara Nyaasam and Grantha Kaalakshepam.

Samaasrayanam: It is quintessentially the performing of Pancha Samskaara – The Five Rites, by the Acharya. They are:

A Brahmana (as also Kshathriya and Vysya) is known as ‘Dwija’ as he is considered to have two births, according to the Vedas – one, the actual birth and the other, at the time of Upanayanam which only affirms the ‘Brahmanathvam’. Similarly, ‘Vaishnavathvam’ is obtained only through Pancha Samskaaram.

Bhara Nyaasam: It is the doctrine of whole-hearted and absolute self-surrender to the Lord. Bhaara Nyasam, Prapathi and Saranaagathi are one and the same by which the Jivathma submits his soul, the burden of saving it and the reward for the act to the Lord Himself (Athma Samarpanam, Bhara Samarpanam and Phala Samarpanam). The knowledge of Thathva Thrayam – the Triple Truth – is very essential to understand the three Rahasyas mentioned earlier. They are: Chith (the sentient soul - Jivathma), Achith (the non-sentient material - non-living things) and Iswara (Paramaathma Sriman Narayana - the Supreme Lord).

The procedure of Prapathi consists of five parts (Angaas) and with the encompassing parcel (Angi), the submission of the burden of the soul is performed. They are:

Prapathi can be performed in three modes, namely, Swanishta (doing it oneself which only qualified persons can do); Ukthi Nishta (doing it through an Acharya by repeating the Manthras he utters) and Acharya Nishta (the Acharya doing it all on behalf of the disciple in his presence).

Grantha Kaalakshepam: Our preceptors have earmarked four important Sampradaya Granthas as imperative to be studied under an Acharya. They are: Sri Ramanuja’s Sri Bhashyam and Gita Bhashyam, Bhagavath Vishayam, being Commentary for Thiruvoymozhi and Swami Desika’s Srimath Rahasya-thraya Saaram. These are collectively known as Grantha Chathushtayams (The four works). One must strive to learn as many as possible, if not all of them.

Thus, the Guru-Sishya connection is established through the above deeds and it is the bounden duty of every Srivaishnava to identify himself with our Sampradaya. Those who already have had the privilege of Samaasrayanam and Bhara Nyaasam performed, should approach an Acharya and learn the philosophy-defining works, if not done already. And those who have not yet had the Samaasrayanam and/or Bhara Nyasam should have them performed at the earliest.

Acharyas are the cornerstones of our Sampradaya. Is there need for any proof when the Lord holds them in the same exalted pedestal as that of Himself?

Meet you in the next Note.

எங்கள் தூப்புல் பிள்ளை பாதம் என் சென்னியதே!

Natteri P. Srihari (a) Lakshmi Narasimhacharyar

<< Prev Next >>

* * *

Please feel free to let us know your views/comments about the site at [email protected]

* * *

www.svdd.com - © Sri Vedantha Desikar Devasthanam, Mylapore, Chennai.